In remembrance of Nonnie

My dearest grandmother
I came to see you on this
Sun kissed day in June
The wind is blowing hard
But not cold
The large trees outside your window
Proudly display full-grown leaves
That dance madly to the rhythm of the steady breeze
Through the wind I hear the song of a single bird
So clear and true
The melody was unmistakable as I stopped to listen for a moment
If the wind is my life
Dear grandmother
And you are the bird
I know that I will hear your song
Through the instrument
Of my heart
Where you will remain
Always.

~ by heartsounds on June 14, 2007.

One Response to “In remembrance of Nonnie”

  1. I lost my mother whom we called Nonnie in January of this year. This poem echoes so strongly in me for my own loss.
    Please keep writing. It’s very beautiful.

Leave a comment